Left on Base

Well it has certainly become difficult to find the motivation to write posts commenting on the cubs, as the current road trip has been an absolute disaster.  So instead of getting into the Cubs offense, and how depressing it is, I will instead report on my journeys…7_1

I must say that I left San Diego in a much better mood than the Cubs.  What a great place to visit.  The ballpark is absolutely fantastic:   A great layout, good seats everywhere in the park,  $5 admission, just to get in the park, and it’s located just off the water.  In addition, the neighborhood around the ballpark is full of great nightlife and shopping that rivals anywhere I’ve been.  A+ San Diego…oh, and of course there is the zoo.  8 9

So now it’s off to San Francisco with Barry Bonds pursuing the Babe.  Barry is a cheater and a pariah of the media, but what big star in the past 20 years has really done anything for major league baseball’s image?  There are a few, to be sure, but the biggest names have drifted into obscurity.  Can anyone tell me where the heck Sosa is right now? 

Of course I would love to be there to see Bond’s make history, but at the same time, I don’t want to see it happen against the Cubs.  If it happens after the Cubs wake up their bats, maybe I can handle it.  And what if 714 landed in my lap?  Would I throw it back?  Probably not, but it’s tempting.

One comment

Leave a comment